Unequivocal Transience

Barely being able to keep my eyes open, it was sharp 10:30 pm when my bed started shaking, significantly enough for my drowsy state of mind to notice, back and forth two days ago.

It happened for a quick minute and, as I grew more Dubious, it happened once again. Bed moving back and forth. Perhaps more vigorously than before. As I rightly presumed, it was an earthquake. Okay, aftershocks of an earthquake that happened thousands of kilometers away but that doesn’t matter because it practically has the same initial fear-inducing and run-for-your-life effect. 

I had already spent days wondering what to select for the Weekly Photo Challenge ‘Temporary‘ because its such a broad topic to which literally everything applies,  but it was in that scary moment when the sheer reality of life being temporary truly struck me. I mean, there I was, in the midst of selecting one temporary aspect, when my entire “temporary” life was crumbling and could be over forever.

That’s when a surge of all the things and people I cherised and could lose within a split second overcame me: friends, family, success, happiness. All at once. All of a sudden.

But, for the sake of keeping this post short and sweet, I’ll just have to make do with a picture of one of my most prized possession, my sister, as one of the many many elements of unequivocal transience in life.

7 thoughts on “Unequivocal Transience

Add yours

  1. Eep. Earthquakes are always terrifying. I’m glad you’re okay.

    I lived in Japan for 3.5 years, and somehow managed to avoid any big ones. But each time the earth would shake a little I’d be soo worried! You are right it is one of those things that really make you notice the impermanence of the things around you.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

